Belize, Fun

Belizean Tiburon Rum


So I cracked open my first bottle of Tiburon yesterday and I have to say that I am pleasantly surprised by the smooth taste from that sexy bottle that feels like running your hand through fine silk, not that I was expecting anything too different. This is highly recommended.

I tried it in different ways:

  • on the rocks
  • with coconut water
  • with club soda
  • with sprite

and I must say that on the rocks and coconut water are my favorite ways. If you have suggestions let me know. I will be trying out some recipes and making up my own stay tuned for updates as I run the tests.

The rum has a sweet spicy smell along with some smells from back home like chocolate. My first taste was a sliver as is, my tongue did a little dance from the rush of flavors that hit it in a split second, mellow but exciting. This is a fun drink that you can have many ways and it will make a great addition to any bar and just about any brew you can conjure up. Tiburon is aged in Kentucky bourbon barrels  amongst other barrels of different ages.

As the Tiburon site puts it:

Tiburon Rum is a hand crafted, aged, premium rum, from an old family owned distillery near the shores of the Caribbean Sea in Belize.

Tiburon rum is a molasses base rum aged in old oak bourbon barrels. The warm climate of Belize helps to gently mature the rum so a younger rum can display some of the same appealing characteristics of a much older spirit from other places on earth.
We blend rums from a variety of barrels of different ages and character and re-cask the blend for a second maturation process.  This is where our Tiburon takes on its golden color and smooth finish and where the oak barrels tend to emphasize the tropical vanilla undertones and oaky accents present in the rum.

I must say that Tiburon dragged me back to Belize; if even just in my sense and memories, it was an enjoyable trip away from Illinois for a bit and I will be making more trips soon. Hopefully I get to sit with Basil one day and talk over a few glasses of my new best friend.

Travelers Liquors and Basil DeStefano truly stepped up the rum game with this one. It is running about US$34.99 per 750ml bottle which is a good deal for a rum of this caliber and is only available in 6 states at the moment.

Ps. The wife swears by Old Maters Gold but this shark got her too.

My Coconut Water and Tiburon drink

Tiburon and Coconut Water
Tiburon and Coconut Water

California

Bock Wines and Spirits
Pier 26, The Embarcadero, #13, San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 834-9675

Illinois

Haus Wines & Spirits
706 N. Industrial Dr. Elmhurst, IL 60126
(630) 433-4624
(630) 400-0743

Mariano’s Gurnee
6655 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031
(847) 856-8502

Texas

Better Distributors of Texas Inc
13200 Pond Springs Rd #G48, Austin, TX
(512) 576-4499

Florida

Cocamo Distributing
385 Williams Point Blvd, Cocoa, FL 32927
(321) 631-4004

Tennessee

Fireside Distributing Company LLC
470 Metroplex Drive, Suite 207, Nashville, TN 37211
(615) 942-5231

Georgia

Red White & Blue Distributors
6711 Oak Ridge, Commerce Way, GA 30168
(770) 817-1293
(770) 739-5550

1 thought on “Belizean Tiburon Rum”

Leave a Reply

